Need help with your Assignment?

Get a timely done, PLAGIARISM-FREE paper
from our highly-qualified writers!

State’s Mandated Reporter Statute

State’s Mandated Reporter Statute

State’s Mandated Reporter Statute: Texas

A mandated reporter is someone required by the law to report cases or reasonable suspicion of child abuse. Texas law requires all professionals to report any case or suspicion of child abuse or neglect within 48 hours after the first suspicion of an offence under Section 21.11, Penal Code (“DFPS – When and How to Report Child Abuse”, n.d). Professionals include nurses, doctors, day-care employees, teachers, and others either licensed by the state or work in a facility licensed or operated by the state and who have direct contact with children in the course of their job (Texas Family Code, Section 261.101). The agency responsible for mandated reporting is the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS).  Reports to DFPS can be made online at https://www.TxAbuseHotline.org or by calling the 24-hour toll-free hotline at 1-800-252-5400.

If faced with a mandated reporter issue, one can call 911 (in case of emergency) and then call the DFPS Abuse Hotline or make an online report. When reporting, professionals should try having access to the child’s record to provide as much information as possible. Such information includes names, addresses, dates of birth, emergency contacts, health issues, and information on siblings or others in the home. It is important to tell who, where, when, what, and how to report in order to help the Child Protective Services (CPS) in conducting appropriate and thorough investigations and gathering information needed for the child’s protection.

An Example of Mandated Reporter Scenario

Juan, a 6-year-old boy, is brought to a hospital by his guardian, Mr. Pedro, to seek medical attention for a knee and elbow injury. He reports that he sustained the injuries two days ago from a fall while skating. He gives no specific answers about how exactly he hurt his elbow and knee. During the physical examination, the doctor identifies and asks about other bruises on Juan’s body. Juan’s answers are vague and non-specific. His guardian is progressively agitated with the questioning and simply states, “Juan is a clumsy boy.” Unable to talk to Juan alone, the doctor focuses on the presenting injuries. When he’s done with the exam, he remains calm and tactfully explains that Juan needs further studies to be done.

Reference

DFPS – When and How to Report Child Abuse. (nd). Retrieved 19 May 2021, from https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Child_Protection/Child_Safety/report_abuse.asp#

ORDER A PLAGIARISM-FREE PAPER HERE

We’ll write everything from scratch

Question 


State’s Mandated Reporter Statute

Review your state’s mandated reporter statute. Provide details about this in your post. If faced with a mandated reporter issue, what are the steps in reporting the issue? Create a mandated reporter scenario and post it. Be sure to include a reference to your state’s website related to mandated reporting.

State’s Mandated Reporter Statute

State’s Mandated Reporter Statute

Order Solution Now