Need help with your Assignment?

Get a timely done, PLAGIARISM-FREE paper
from our highly-qualified writers!

Grief and Loss

Grief and Loss

How the Videos Made Me Feel and The Thoughts That Came to Mind

The first video on the stages of grief made me feel a sense of sadness. This is because it reminded me of the time following the death of my maternal grandma. My grandmother had been there all my life; she was present for all family functions and even in celebrating every milestone. When she passed on, I went through these five stages of grief. It took me years to accept her loss, and I am still trying to do so, especially when I celebrate significant events without her.

The second video was somewhat humorous. I couldn’t imagine Dr. Pereira being unable to decipher the nurse’s ‘coded’ message. It seems natural to use coded language when talking about patient conditions, mostly because we as nurses want to protect the patient from overreacting. I believe there is no need to be too focused on ‘Palliative’ word use unless, of course, not using it can cause medical errors. However, I am yet to encounter a medical error or hear of one that resulted from not using the phrase ‘palliative care.’

Interesting Facts

The five stages of grief are denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. In denial, the brain protects itself until it is ready to absorb difficult news. Anger can range from frustration to fury. The bargaining stage is also sometimes accompanied by guilt. Depression is a natural response for persons experiencing pain and loss; it is not a sign of mental illness. Reaching acceptance does not imply that grief is over. It doesn’t also mean that we feel good about it. Grief does not always follow a specific path. A person may feel as though their feelings are all over the place. The five stages of grief are not a direction but a way of helping one understand the feelings one may be experiencing.

Sometimes we use other words and phrases when referring to death because we see these as being softer and kinder. Some practitioners are uncomfortable with using words related to death, such as ‘Palliative’. They would rather use words such as ‘pain and symptom management,’ ‘quality of life team,’ and ‘supportive care.’

References (2019, June 18). The Five Stages of Grief. [Video]. YouTube

Pallium Canada. (2015, June 15). The Words We Use. [Video]. YouTube.


We’ll write everything from scratch


Grief and Loss

Attachments: Watch the following 2 videos to answer the questions.


Grief and Loss

Grief and Loss

1. How did each of the videos make you feel? Explain
2. What thoughts came to mind after viewing each video? Explain.
3. What were some interesting facts that reached out to you while watching each video? Give examples.

Order Solution Now